District 48 – Scott Oelslager

Scott OelslagerSenator Scott Oelslager brings 30 years of legislative experience to the Ohio Senate as he works to promote economic development and job creation on behalf of the people of northeastern Ohio. He represents the 29th Ohio Senate District, which encompasses most of Stark County.

Prior to embarking on his legislative career, Oelslager worked as an aide to former Ohio Congressman Ralph Regula, and later served as director of public relations for Malone College. He was appointed to the Ohio Senate in 1985, where the people of Stark County subsequently returned him for four additional terms. In 2002, Oelslager was elected to the Ohio House of Representatives, where he served as Chairman of the Judiciary Committee and the Civil and Commercial Law Committee. Because of his strong leadership and experience, Stark County voters once again elected him to represent them in the Ohio Senate in 2010. Following the redistricting of the state in 2010, Oelslager was elected in 2014 by the newly formed 29th Senate District.

Senator Oelslager currently serves as Chairman of the influential Finance Committee – which develops the state’s two-year operating budget, and is Vice-Chair of the Civil Justice Committee. Additionally, he serves as a member of the Health and Human Services Committee, Rules and Reference Committee, and the Joint Legislative Ethics Commission.

Senator Oelslager has been honored numerous times for his work in the General Assembly, most recently being named 2015 Legislator of the Year by the Ohio Association of County Boards which serves people with developmental disabilities. He was also recognized as the 2015 Outstanding Legislator of the Year by the Public Children Services Association of Ohio for his legislative leadership supporting children and families. In 2014, Oelslager was named Alumni of the Year for Community Service by Capital Law School and was the 2014 Boys & Girls Club Appreciation Award recipient. He has been named Legislator of the Year by the Ohio Nurses Association, and previously received the Community Partnership Award from the Canton Professional Educators’ Association. Oelslager has also been named Legislator of the Year by the Ohio Academy of Trial Lawyers, the 2011 Champion for Children’s Health from VOICES for Ohio’s Children, and twice received the Friend of Public Education Award from the Ohio Federation of Teachers. He also received the J.S. “Sandy” Sanders Award of Merit from the Massillon Area Chamber of Commerce, the Emergency Nurses’ Award, and was named Legislator of the Year in 2012 by the Ohio Parks and Recreation Association. Additionally, the Society of Professional Journalists – Central Ohio Chapter has honored him with the First Amendment Award. Oelslager was recently named the 2014 Hope Award recipient. This recognition came from the Ohio State University Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital & Richard Solove Research Institute.

Senator Oelslager received his bachelor’s degree from Mount Union and earned his law degree from Capital University Law School. He and his wife, Elsie, reside in North Canton.