District 77 – Tim Schaffer

Tim SchafferA lifelong resident of Central Ohio, Representative Tim Schaffer currently is serving his fourth non-consecutive term in the House of Representatives, serving the 77th House District, which encompasses most of Fairfield County. Representative Schaffer’s tenure in public office began when he was elected to the Ohio House of Representatives in 2000. After serving three terms he was elected to represent the 31st Ohio Senate District.

Representative Schaffer has worked tirelessly at the Statehouse to fight government corruption, reduce taxes and protect our children from sexual predators. Additionally, Representative Schaffer has worked to bring numerous economic development projects to his district, which led to the creation of hundreds of new job opportunities. As the former chairman of the Senate Ways and Means and Economic Development Committee, he helped oversee legislation that continues to affect state and local government revenues, tax collection and economic development. He also served as vice-chair of the Senate Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources Committee, and served on the Energy and Public Utilities Committee and the Insurance, Commerce and Labor Committee. These positions allowed him to play a key role in developing policies that protect Ohio’s air and water quality along with its abundant natural resources, keep energy prices and taxes in-check, maintain a strong infrastructure, and ensure state labor policies encourage, rather than hinder, job creation.

Representative Schaffer earned a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science and Communications from Mount Union College. In addition to his legislative duties, Representative Schaffer has a private sector career as an association executive, and has also served as chairman of the Fairfield County Republican Party. Various awards and honors include Watchdog of the Treasury Award, NFIB Guardian of Small Business, Champion of the Ohio Quarter Horse Congress, Friend of Philanthropy, Ohio Development Association Distinguished Service Award, National Federation of the Blind Distinguished Service Award, MS Society of America Advocate of the Year, Business First 40 under 40 and the Fairfield County Republican Party Statesmanship Award.